The rains of Castemere

   Are you guys madly in love with this song (the vocal version and the instrumental as well), cause I am? I think it`s the best medieval ballad I`ve ever heard in my life. The music, the lyrics, everything. And even if it`s a Lannister song, created to inspire fear to Lannister`s enemies, I think in a subtle way it`s against theme. I mean pay attention to the first stanza where it`s says:”And who are you,…, that I must bow so low” which represents a protest very justified addressed to Tywin`s tirany and:”In a coat of gold or a coat of red a lion still has claws.”which is again a strong argument of the lord Reyne`s revolt. I like to think that the minstrel who invented this was not pleased with the Lannister in reality, and being terrified and disgusted with their actions, with their cruel treatment to the Reynes, and being very clever as well, he creep in the lyrics some of his secret reproaches. In any case, as I have some reproaches to make to HBO as well considering the voice in this song, which I found to bass and hoarseness, I posted here another interpretation of The rains of Castemere by Karliene. Hope you will enjoy it, and I am very sorry I couldn`t find a version sang on the original music line, I like it as much as this one.

                                                                  Lyrics:                                                                                  

And who are you, the proud lord said,
that I must bow so low?
Only a cat of a different coat,
that’s all the truth I know.
In a coat of gold or a coat of red,
a lion still has claws,
And mine are long and sharp, my lord,
as long and sharp as yours.
And so he spoke, and so he spoke,
that lord of Castamere,
But now the rains weep o’er his hall,
with no one there to hear.
Yes now the rains weep o’er his hall,
and not a soul to hear.

Lasă un răspuns

